1. Log in now to remove adverts - no adverts at all to registered members!

Off Topic summer or winter tyres?

Discussion in 'Hull City' started by Geo10, Oct 27, 2017.

1. Geo10

Geo10 Well-Known Member

random I know but what are the pro’s and cons of both?

2. Barchullona

Barchullona Well-Known Member

Geo10 likes this.
  3. augustatiger

augustatiger Well-Known Member

Much to involved for a board like this,Google it and you will find plenty of factual sites.D pends on the business you are in.I would go company every time .

Geo10 likes this.
  4. ImperialTiger

ImperialTiger Well-Known Member

Depends what you are doing. Back when I was an accountant a decade ago, the tax incentives for forming a limited company far outweighed the downside. Everything I mention relates to then and may not relate to now.

A company limits the directors' liability (it makes the company a separate legal entity to the business) so unless you do something dodgy, you can't be sued for any of your personal assets (your house etc.) It also allows you be more efficient with your tax matters (you can draw a salary equal to the personal allowance (about £11k?) and draw down the rest of the profits as dividends (these use to be tax-free until you got the higher rate tax band but I think they cost a bit of tax these days). The profits can be drawn over several years as salary if you retire and your income is below the personal allowance. You used to be able to have a spouse as a fellow director and do the same with them (you could get about £80k out of a company a year with a married couple, although they were cracking down on "ma and pa" operations). The company pays corporation tax which was always much lower than PAYE income tax.

Downside of a company is the extra regulatory costs of an accountant preparing statutory accounts. If you keep good records then this should only be a few hundred quid a year and is a lower cost than the tax saving from incorporating.