Rival watch

  • Please bear with us on the new site integration and fixing any known bugs over the coming days. If you can not log in please try resetting your password and check your spam box. If you have tried these steps and are still struggling email [email protected] with your username/registered email address
  • Log in now to remove adverts - no adverts at all to registered members!
Maybe the fact that he challenged for the ball from an onside position?
So what? Someone scoring from an onside position isn't relevant to whether they're committing the offence.
Where they are when the ball is played is relevant. Where they are when they become active isn't.
 
There are now two whole pages of explanations in the Laws on offside. Being Offside isn't an offence. A player receiving a ball from an opponent who deliberately plays the ball isn't penalised for being offside unless it is a 'save'. Mings chested the ball down and Rodri hadn't challenged him before that so Rodri isn't penalised for being offside. This is crystal clear and not open to interpretation. It is also bonkers.
He didn't receive the ball, he took it
 
So what? Mings isn't his teammate.
You really don't understand the offside rule, do you?
Not the Spurs one no.
If he had beaten Mings to the ball he would have been offside but as it stands (in real rules) he was back onside before Mings touched the ball and so was ok.
 
Not the Spurs one no.
If he had beaten Mings to the ball he would have been offside but as it stands (in real rules) he was back onside before Mings touched the ball and so was ok.
He absolutely wasn't back onside when Mings touched the ball, but it wouldn't have mattered if he was.
The ruling is that he's not offside, because the pass from his teammate is now another phase of play after Mings plays it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Billy The Spur
I've been there all along.
You've been banging on about something irrelevant the whole time and are now trying to move the goalposts.
Why?
I have already said he was back onside (by at least 2 players) when he challenged for the ball (after Mings touched it) so how am i moving the goalposts :huh:
 
Why?
I have already said he was back onside (by at least 2 players) when he challenged for the ball (after Mings touched it) so how am i moving the goalposts :huh:
I'll start with the first point, then I'm leaving it for the night.
It doesn't matter where he was when he challenged for the ball. That's never relevant to an offside decision.
 
For some reason, that whole incident with Mings/Rodri yesterday instantly makes me think of this (albeit situations are different obviously):

You must log in or register to see media

Still can't believe Clattenburg gave this as a legitimate goal <laugh>
 
  • Like
Reactions: Billy The Spur