1. Log in now to remove adverts - no adverts at all to registered members!

Off Topic Sheds

Discussion in 'Hull City' started by Amin Yapusi, Apr 12, 2020.

1. Amin Yapusi

Amin Yapusi Well-Known Member

No better place for DIY advice than a football forum.

Planning on building my own L shaped shed. 4m x 2m at its narrowest and 3m on the L and about 2.4m tall with a roof sloping down from back to front. Now I’m an engineer so my understanding is metals and plastics and precision components but I think I have the necessary skills to draw up a solid plan and put it into action. But I don’t really know about wood and buildings.

So. What kind of timber do I need for base, walls and roof frame? Does it need to be that C16 pressure treated stuff? Does everything need to be coated further? 2x6 on the bottom and 2x4 on the side and roof? 18mm ply for the floor and roof? Ply on the walls or just some of that overlapping cladding stuff sheds normally have? Hardwood of softwood boards?

Now I should mention I’m planning on building a climbing training wall on the back right across the 4mm width that will be built into the frame work so the back wall does need to be load bearing but I can’t help feel that 2x4’s and 18mm ply are overkill for the rest considering the flat pack kits you get are nowhere near that sturdy.

Just approximating materials there’s almost £1k dropped in the floor and framework alone before adding any doors, walls, roof felt etc.

Have been looking round the shed kits all evening but nothing really fits the bill for what we want. Missus wants some of it to be like a summer house and we need a fairly big storage space too. Plus it will give me something to do whilst I’m stuck at home.

There is a big L shaped concrete slab in the garden already hence the L shape design to make use of it all.

2. SW3 Chelsea Tiger

SW3 Chelsea Tiger Well-Known Member

3. Ron Burguvdy

Ron Burguvdy Well-Known Member

4. Ron Burguvdy

Ron Burguvdy Well-Known Member