Can anybody explain to me why Mignolet was booked today? Ive never seen a card for a goalkeeper handling a backpass before so was a bit shocked when he recieved a yellow. Surely if the referee thought he prevented a clear goal scoring opportunity (which he clearly did as it was in otherwise) then it should have been red. Then again any time a goalkeeper handles a backpass it is done as a very last resort and always denies a clear goalscoring opportunity so they should always see red for this offence.
He didn't prevent a goal scoring opportunity, he prevented a goal. You don't send keepers off for making a save Also you cannot send a 'keeper off if he handles inside his area from a backpass, in the rules
But why was he booked then i cant get my head around it. Clearly he broke the rules and prevented a goal by doing so should have been sent off but the yellow was baffling surely if you cant send a keeper off for it then why bother with the yellow?
No idea, I was surprised myself when he got the booking. I remember a similar thing happened a few years back under Bruce, think it was against Wolves? Anyway Richardson played an awful ball back to Gordon who have to save it, and they got an indirect freekick for it (which iirc they scored), but anyway I don't think Gordon got booked for it. Strange
The actual offence committed is the handling of the ball by the goalkeeper, not the ball being passed back. An indirect freekick is awarded to the opposing team from the place where the offence occurred, i.e., where the goalkeeper handled the ball. In practice this offence is very rarely committed. The offence rests on three events occurring in the following sequence: The ball is kicked (played with the foot, not the knee, thigh, or shin) by a teammate of the goalkeeper, This action is deemed to be deliberate and intentional, rather than a deflection or an miss-kick which is not intended for goalkeepers direction, by the referee The goalkeeper handles the ball directly (no intervening touch of play of the ball by anyone else). Handling the ball involves retrieving the ball or making a save with one or both hands. Law 12 states a keeper can't be sent of for handling in his own area.
There we are Still doesn't quite explain we he was booked. Think Dowd (was it Dowd?) just felt he had to for some reason..
Booked for misconduct not a foul. Did you know if the pass back to the keeper is by trickery, ie. juggling the ball with feet and heading the ball to the keeper the ref has the right to book the player heading the ball? But not the keeper as the trickster is deemed to have broke the rules. With a booking due and indirect freekick from where the trickster played the ball.
you are probably to young to remember the saying , it does get lost in translation if you are not old enough to remember.
This was the only logical conclusion I could come up with just wondered if any of the amateur refs on here might have had another explanation. At least we have deduced that he cant be sent off by the letter of the law even though if it was outside the box he would have been. Strange one all round and a bit of a grey area im guessing.
another one was, touch black cant have back eneeny meany miney mo **** it mod now coming on , god bless all here, i will fight the best man in the house. crew practise tomorrow rnli good night