If (and that's a big if) it's accidental, then he shouldn't be sent off. It's double jeopardy. If he means it, then the red would still apply.
Nah. If he dives in he’s adjudged to be attempting to get the ball. Didn’t play the ball so it’s a red. Bit of a silly unintended consequence of the rule. Then again **** him, he’s a ****.
Doesn’t matter whether it’s accidental, he’s made no attempt to play the ball, and he’s tripped him, accidental or not, it’s a red card.
As Peter Walton has just pointed out on BT the double jeopardy rule only applies if you attempt to play the ball. He didn't.
I never went anywhere. I was posting on here earlier and yesterday. Maybe you were too busy on the Burnley board to notice?
Is that what they meant? I thought it was supposed to penalise deliberate fouls and avoid two punishments for genuine defensive attempts. If that's how it's written, then it's the right decision.