1. Log in now to remove adverts - no adverts at all to registered members!

Real highs and real lows

Discussion in 'Preston' started by lilywhite forever, Apr 27, 2011.

1. lilywhite forever

Good evening Northenders. I don't usually post articles on here as I'm not very good at putting my thoughts down into words, but bear with me and I'll try and put this across in the best way I can.

It's been two days since our fate was sealed and I'm sure we've all been mooching around with our bottom lips hanging out, trying to put our fingers on where it all went wrong. I'm at the conclusion that it could be one of a few things (all previously discussed in length with different opinions, so I won't go on about them) but does it matter now? What matters is that the club gets a bit of stability, financially and on the field.

This is a very low spell for us. Some of out younger fans have only been used to some success, whether it be from when our then talisman Andy Saville propelled us out of that Godforsaken bottom division or whether it be in the Championship and our relatively successful spell in there. I started watching PNE in 1982. I was 13 at the time and my parents would never let me go to a game before that, in fear of my safety if wandering niaively into a "set of wrong uns" (as they used to say). Nonetheless, I went on Deepdale with my mate in a 2-2 draw with Burnley. That was my first. I did my paper round the next morning chanting "Tommy Booth, Tommy Booth, Tommy Booth" and I was bitten by the bug. I've seen highs and lows, along with others that remember them, the most turbulent times in the mid Eighties to early the Nineties when Baxi came in and saved our bacon.