1. Log in now to remove adverts - no adverts at all to registered members!

Is any footballer really worth £100,000,000?

Discussion in 'Watford' started by hornethologist a.k.a. theo, Jul 28, 2016.

1. hornethologist a.k.a. theo

hornethologist a.k.a. theo Well-Known Member

It's being reported in various newspapers that Paul Pogba is about to join Manchester United for a fee in excess of £100m, with his agent perhaps collecting a fee amounting to a quarter of that.

Even allowing for the possibility that this sum is a guess, an estimate or an exaggeration, it seems an extraordinary figure and, aside from fuelling my growing dislike of what I read about the professional game, raises a couple of questions in my mind.

1. I'm not a financial expert, so I'm curious to know what those of you with more expertise than I have think about the sums now being paid for top players and how you think that money is actually recouped from a club's earnings. Is it a massive gamble or a safe investment?

2. Because football doesn't exist in a vacuum, what would you say to clubs considering spending £100m? Should they/ can they be encouraged to spend the money in a way that benefits more than an already rich player and a rich agent or do you think world class player = world class team = even more income = even more money to distribute where it matters?

I know we can't put the clock back, even if we wanted to, but I'm interested in how sustainable the current model of a few clubs awash with money is. It feels particularly relevant now, given the growing number of debates about social and regional inequality.

Interested to hear your thoughts, random or otherwise...

2. A1 Horn

A1 Horn Well-Known Member

Yes, Troy Deeney :emoticon-0105-wink:

3. Bolton's Boots

Bolton's Boots Well-Known Member